5 things I learned from my first attempt at co-writing a song

Okay, so I got together with a couple other song writers a few weeks ago to work on a great idea for a song, but due to some differences in opinion and misunderstandings, sadly, we decided not to finish the song together.

After some more discussion, we finally agreed to give it another shot, and I’m glad we did. I learned some valuable lessons from the process that may be helpful to others who are new to co-writing.

1. The combined talents of 2-3 co-writers can result in a superior song and everyone can help cover the costs of recording if that’s what you choose to do.

2. Make sure you know your rights and the expectations before getting into a co-write, and decide how to go about it ahead of time. Eg: percentages, etc. (For ours we all get an equal share of the song no matter how much we contribute.)

3. For our co-write, we chose to only make decisions together and in person, not over the phone or through email, but we can share ideas through email to help avoid confusion.

4. Be honest about what you like and don’t like about the song and other’s ideas, but be open to trying other ideas.

5. Co-writing helps generate more ideas that you can pursue either with others or on your own.

 

 

About alicebeesley

Hi, I'm married and have three kids and a dog—she's a shnoodle named Kizzy. I enjoy playing the guitar and writing songs. I've published some poetry in magazines such as Avocet, a literary journal and Mylight, an online children's magazine. I have a bachelor's degree in writing from Brigham Young University. In the evenings I teach English as a second language. For fun I like to hike, bike, camp, and cross country ski. One of my favorite things to do is read a good book in bed and eat sugar-free chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

